Four Fundamentals of Rifle Marksmanship

K.T. Quill
9 min readJul 6, 2022
U.S. Army Private 1st Class Andre Matthews fires an M16A4 rifle during the Squad Designated Marksman Course instructed by the New Jersey Army National Guard’s 254th Regiment on Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J., July 20, 2017. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Master Sgt. Matt Hecht/Released)

Iam going to start this article off by introducing myself. I always recommend ensuring you are getting reliable information from a credible source, especially when it comes to self-defense. I am Staff Sergeant Kody Taylor of the United States Army. I served as a Drill Sergeant for three years where I trained over 3,000 Soldiers in Basic Rifle Marksmanship. I am also currently the Marksmanship Master Trainer within my Battalion where I continue to train 500+ Soldiers in both Basic and Advanced Rifle Marksmanship.

There are four main fundamentals of rifle marksmanship that will ensure you will remain consistent in your shot process throughout your shooting career. Please keep in mind that this is not an article on safety fundamentals. However:

1. ALWAYS treat your weapon as if it is loaded

2. ALWAYS keep your weapon on safe until you are ready to fire

3. NEVER put your finger on the trigger unless you are ready to fire

4. NEVER point the barrel at your weapon at anything you do not intend to harm.

I’m going to boldly state that anybody who does not follow the safety rules above are complete morons. Rifles are not toys, they are tools. All tools have a purpose. If an individual is not responsible enough to use the tool safely, then they have no…

--

--

K.T. Quill

Military Police Officer | Creative Writing Major | Screenwriter